Victoria House
37-63 Southampton Row
LONDON  (Grande-Bretagne)
Dr Darius Campbell, Executive Secretary

Since 1972 the OSPAR Convention has worked to identify threats to the marine environment and has organised, across its maritime area, programmes and measures to ensure effective national action to combat them. In doing this, OSPAR has pioneered ways of monitoring and assessing the environmental status of the seas by setting internationally agreed goals and by agreeing commitments by participating Governments to deliver what is needed. This proven record of success makes the OSPAR Commission a vital mechanism to help Governments cooperate in the region and a key partner in further efforts to improve the protection of the North-East Atlantic.
OSPAR est le mécanisme par lequel quinze gouvernements et l'Union européenne, coopèrent pour protéger l’environnement marin de l’Atlantique du Nord-Est. Depuis 1972, La Convention OSPAR a travaillé sur l’identification des menaces sur l’environnement marin et a organisé dans sa zone, des programmes et des mesures pour s’assurer de l’efficacité des actions nationales pour les combattre. Par ces actions, OSPAR a ouvert des voies pour s’assurer de la surveillance et de l’évaluation de l’état de santé des mers, afin de fixer des objectifs approuvés au niveau international et de vérifier que les gouvernements participants livrent ce qui est suffisant. Ce succès reconnu fait de la Commission OSPAR un mécanisme vital pour aider les gouvernements à coopérer et un partenaire clé pour fournir les efforts à venir afin d’améliorer la protection de l’Atlantique du Nord-Est.
OSPAR is the mechanism by which 15 Governments & the EU cooperate to protect the marine environment of the North-East Atlantic. OSPAR started in 1972 with the Oslo Convention against dumping and was broadened to cover land-based sources and the offshore industry by the Paris Convention of 1974. These two conventions were unified, up-dated and extended by the 1992 OSPAR Convention. The new annex on biodiversity and ecosystems was adopted in 1998 to cover non-polluting human activities that can adversely affect the sea. The fifteen Governments are Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom. OSPAR is so named because of the original Oslo and Paris Conventions


© Worldinz 2020